All Things Wise and Unpopular?

Is has been said that what is right is not always popular and what is popular is not always right. Einstein said that, I believe. 

I remember when I read that for the first time. It was in my seventh grade choir teacher’s class room above the chalk board. I didn’t start choir until eighth grade, but I had her for another class. And yes, I did say chalk board. For you spring chickens, it’s what we used in school before the dry erase board and before projection boards. 

I studied that line for several minutes to let it sink in. Soon, I began to recall other lines I knew. “If it feels good, do it” was one of the other ones that was popular at the time. I like the counter line that says something along he lines of “no, everyone is not doing it.” 

My mom would always tell us to do what she said and not what she did. “Do what I say, not as I do.” I used to always think this was a great thing to say because I heard it all the time. Then I grew up. 

We all grew up with those one-liners spoken as if they were a rule to live by. Some of them were and still are very useful to this day. One of them is “because I am the parent and I said so.” 

What do I mean by the title of this post? All things wise and Unpopular? Many of the things our parents said just aren’t that wise in the end. Truth is that the things that give us the most wisdom to live by, we don’t want to hear because they take the fun away from what we want to do. 

Bottom line is be careful what you do. Strive to do the right thing even if it means getting the shaft. 

Leave a Reply

