Worship Like No One is Watching

Unable to move away, I just stayed there, eyes closed, hands raised and worshipping my God.

worshipEver have one of those times during worship where you felt like no one else was there and didn’t want it to stop? How did it make you feel? I remember one such time myself. As a disclaimer, if you don’t believe in the gifts of the Spirit including speaking in tongues, you may not want to continue reading. I hope you would finish to the end though.

The worship service for me was at an all-time high. I was deeply immersed in the moment of personal worship and I had to stop playing my keyboard. I can’t tell you the song we were singing or how long it lasted, but I will say it didn’t last long enough. The anointing of the Holy Spirit was very strong and weighty that morning. I had closed my eyes and just began to worship from my spirit in a way that I had never done before. I was asking God to allow me a breakthrough and to experience His presence in a tangible way. It was then that I felt as if I was being pushed backward into the wall behind me. Unable to move away, I just stayed there, eyes closed, hands raised and worshipping my God.

It was at that moment that my own tongue began uttering things I could not understand. I have had my prayer language for several years and use it regularly, but this was different. The sounds I heard coming from my mouth were very new and it was the only time where I had no control over my tongue. The Holy Spirit began speaking through me for what seemed like an eternity, but was only a moment or two. It was as if He opened my mouth and when He had finished, he closed my mouth. When that moment was over, my body felt numb and light at the same time. I felt like I had truly been in His presence and immersed in His Spirit.

These are moments we should all strive for. These are moments that the Father longs to spend with us. Sadly, most of us do not know how to get there. Most of us are too distracted by our surroundings and our thoughts during worship.

How do you get there? There are no specific steps or things to do, but there are a few things that I try to do before a worship service to make that experience more of a possibility.

  1. Spend ample time in prayer. Jesus says we are to pray without ceasing. This simply means that we should live a lifestyle of prayer. It really just means to talk to God. Don’t just ask Him for things or complain about them. Just talk to Him. Let Him know how your day is going. Find out what He wants to say to you.
  2. Worship privately. Learn how to worship by yourself. This is training for a corporate setting. If you can learn to worship God when you’re alone, you develop a deeper intimacy with Him and you can worship as long as you’d like to. You have no time constraints.
  3. Read the Bible. Don’t just read it for the sake of reading it. You won’t get anything from it this way. Read it to learn. Read it to find out what God is telling you now. Get ahold of a commentary and a Hebrew/Greek dictionary. These can be invaluable to help you learn what the Bible is really saying. By all means, ask the Holy Spirit to teach you when you read and study.
  4. Close your eyes. You CAN worship with your eyes closed. This is a good practice to get into if you want to worship and not be distracted by the next person. If you are busy watching everyone else, you’ll miss out.
  5. Have an open heart and mind. Don’t limit how God can move upon you. Be open to Him moving however He sees fit for that moment.
  6. Lastly, EXPECT!! If you don’t expect to experience God during worship, you probably won’t. If you come to church or Bible study or even in your private worship and you expect God to do something, He will do it. It may not look like what you want, but He will do something.

Leave a Reply

