Who Knew?

I thought about doing this on Facebook, but I usually  tend to get in trouble or blow things up there. So I decided to make my platform here because I hardly get any visitors to my blog let alone any views. Haha! Just my luck, someone will actually read this and be offended. God bless them any way.

So, are you ready for what I have to say? I hope so.  If not, please continue to read and judge after you’ve completed reading.

Do you remember King Cyrus? He was the king who had declared the Israelites as free men in 538 B.C.  He was a Persian king. His reign started in 559 B.C. in Persia and ended in 530 B.C. Not very long, but very much accomplished in what he was able to do.

But he was a Persian king. He was not Jewish. He was Pagan. His reign as king in Babylon began in 538 B.C. I want  to share some things that the Bible shows us about him. The first place I want to look is in Isaiah. There is a prophecy concerning King Cyrus written 100 years before he even came to exist in this world.

Isaiah 44:28 says Who says of Cyrus, ‘He is My shepherd, and he shall perform all My pleasure, saying to Jerusalem, “You shall be built,” and to the temple, “Your foundation shall be laid.” ‘

Isaiah 45:1 says “Thus says the LORD to His anointed, to Cyrus, whose right hand I have held to subdue nations before him and loose the armor of kings, to open before him the double doors, so that the gates will not be shut…” Verse 4 For Jacob My servant’s sake, and Israel My elect, I have even called you by your name; I have named you, though you have not known Me.

Two things I want to point out, well, three things actually. The declaration is spoken to Cyrus. He is called anointed by the LORD Himself. That word anointed in the original Hebrew language is mashiach, and it means anointed, usually a consecrated person (as a king, priest, or saint); specifically, the Messiah — anointed, Messiah. It comes from the root word mashach, which means to rub with oil, i.e. To anoint; by implication, to consecrate; also to paint — anoint, paint.

When the LORD says that Cyrus was anointed, it means not only just that he was to be king, but also that he would be set apart (consecrated) for a special purpose that God had in mind.

The second thing I want to point out is that God had called him by name even 100 years before his birth! Even though Cyrus would not walk in God’s ways, he would be used by God to release the captives of Israel amongst other things that could only have been brought about by God.

Fast forward to the year 538 B.C. The southern kingdom of Israel (Judah) had been in captivity in Babylon for nearly 70 years. Meanwhile, Daniel (you know the guy that survived the den of lions?) had known what the prophet Jeremiah had said about the captivity of Judah. It was to be for a period of 70 years and he began fasting and pleading with God to be faithful and allow them to return to Jerusalem.

Let’s now look at how the story unfolds in Ezra chapter 1. I won’t go over the entire chapter, you can read it on your own. But I want to say that the very first verse gives us some important information. It starts out by saying in the first year of Cyrus king of Persia, that the word of the LORD by the mouth of Jeremiah might be fulfilled, the LORD stirred up the spirit of Cyrus king of Persia, so that he made a proclamation throughout all his kingdom, and also put it in writing, saying, 2 Thus says Cyrus king of Persia: all the kingdoms of the earth the LORD God of heaven has given me. And He has commanded me to build Him a house at Jerusalem which is in Judah. 3 Who is among you of all His people? My his God be with him, and let him go up to Jerusalem which is in Judah, and build the house of the LORD God of Israel (He is God), which is in Jerusalem.

The text continues and says that Cyrus also sent back all the articles of the house of the LORD which Nebuchadnezzar had taken from Jerusalem and put in the temple of his gods. ******************

I had read something on social media asking people to send President Trump a postcard of encouragement on 3/17/17. When I began reading comments that people were leaving, I was not surprised by any of them. While a lot were in favor of the idea and said they would participate, still others were bashing the man who now sits in the Oval Office.

I want to share one more thought from Scripture. Romans 13:1 says that every soul should be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and the authorities that exist are appointed by God. 2 Therefore whoever resists the authority resists the ordinance of God, and those who resist will bring judgement on themselves.

It can’ be any other way. What did that just say? The authorities that exist are appointed by God? You’ve got to be kidding me. Nope. I’m not. I didn’t say that. The Bible said it. The apostle Paul wrote it under the inspiration of God. So in effect, God Himself said it.

There are those who say that President Trump should not have been voted as President. Maybe so. I personally believe that he will be used by God during his time as President. That being said, I must also say this. Just because you may not like the man doesn’t give you the right to slander him and to speak ill of him. He may yet prove to be a poor leader in some areas and an excellent leader in other areas.

According to the verses I just shared, Trump, like Cyrus was anointed by God for a specific purpose. He is said to have given his life to God before the election, but that is not our place to say anything different. We judge the fruit. Remember when you were first saved? You weren’t perfect overnight and neither was he. Neither was I. In fact, I’m still not perfect and neither are you.

To the ones who do not like our nation’s leader, I ask you. What has he ever done to you? Did he ever once say to you face to face something you did not like? I personally am not fond of everything he said during his campaign. Some of it was really, very rude. But that does not give me a reason to not like him as President.

As Christians, we have a responsibility toward our President. Regardless of our opinion of the man, our job is to cover him with prayer. Not that he would run the nation the way we think he should run it, but according to how God shows him. As long as he listens to sound council and does not make rash and hasty decisions, we will be just fine. You will be just fine.

Pray for the man. Not just one time, but continually. That’s the only way you will see change in him if you don’t like what you see.

 

Leave a Reply

